Attica Region

Based at Athens, the country's capital and largest city, which is also the region's administrative centre. Divided into 8 regional units: Central Athens, North Athens; West Athens; South Athens; Piraeus; East Attica; West Attica; Islands

Attica Region
Attica Region: The city of Athens seen from the Mount Lycabettus, | Photo 163890571 © Anamaria Mejia


One of the most historically rich regions in Greece, Attica, is universally known for its contribution to humanity’s cultural heritage, having shaped what we call today the western civilization. Located on the eastern edge of Central Greece, the region covers about 3,808 square kilometers and contains within its area Athens, the country’s capital and largest city, as well as the cities of Elefsina, Megara, Laurium, and Marathon where democracy, philosophy and poetry originated. A small part of the Peloponnese peninsula and the islands of Salamis, Aegina, Angistri, Poros, Hydra, Spetses, Kythira, and Antikythera are also part of the region.

Geographically, Attica is a triangular peninsula with diverse landscapes, mountainous villages, seaside towns and a thousand archaeological sites. The historical and cultural wealth of the region is combined with rare natural beauty. Experience the most stunning sightseeing with trips to the easy-to-reach island gems of the Saronic Gulf. Sail along the Athenian Riviera, stretching from Paleo Faliro (north of Piraeus) to Cape Sounion, where the imposing Temple of Poseidon is located. Whether you’re a history enthusiast, a cuisine connoisseur, or just looking for sun and relaxation, this magnificent region has everything for each and every traveler, any time of year. There’s no shortage of things to do and see here.


The history of Attica is tightly linked with that of Athens, the city with the most prominent archaeological site: the world famous Acropolis, the ancient citadel that became the foundation of the civilized world. According to the Roman geographer Pausanias, Attica was originally named Actaea meaning “shore, maritime place”, but was later renamed in the honour of Atthis, daughter of king Cranaus of Athens.

Attica was likely settled as early as 2000 years BC, with Athens becoming a major center of power in the Mycenaean civilization. During antiquity, the Athenians boasted about being “autochthonic”, meaning that they were the original inhabitants of Attica and had not moved to the peninsula from anywhere else.

After the period of antiquity, Attica came under Roman, Byzantine, Venetian, and Ottoman rule. During the Greek War of Independence in the 1820s, the peasants of Attica were the first to revolt (April 1821), occupying Athens and seizing the Acropolis that was handed over to the Greek revolutionaries in June, 1822. Athens was officially declared the capital of the newly established Greek State in 1834. The city hosted the first modern Olympic games in 1896.

It was occupied by the Nazis in World War II, but managed to recover and slowly built up over the next years to become a popular tourist attraction. Today, the contemporary scenery of the region reflects its rich history and modern personality. Spend your days at the various museums to be transported to the eras of Attica and become a part of its glory.


Attica, the country’s commercial hub, has the most diversified economy in Greece and is home to almost 50% of economic activity. The drivers of the region’s economy include tourism, manufacturing, mining, real estate, maritime services, logistics, financial services, hi-tech and life sciences, agribusiness, along with wholesale and retail trade.

>Gross regional product

Total €85.769 billion Per capita €22,835


The region was established in the 1987 administrative reform, and until 2010 it comprised the 4 prefectures of Athens, East Attica, Piraeus and West Attica. Since 1 January 2011, the region represents the second-level local administration. While being supervised by the Decentralized Administration of Attica, it is now an independent self-governing body with powers and a budget comparable to the former prefectures.

Region’s capital: Athens Region’s area: 3,808.10 km2 Region’s population (2021): 3,792,469 Density: 1,000/km2 Postal Address: 80-88 Syngrou Avenue, 117 41, Athens, Greece Region’s Website: Region’s tourism website: Tel: +30 213 2064100, 213 2065000

Nikos Hardalias Regional Governor of Attica

Nikos Hardalias was born on 10 November 1968 in the Municipality of Vyronas, Attica. He graduated with distinction from the Varvakeios Model School (Varvakeion Lyceum). He studied Politics and International Relations at the University of Kent, England, specializing in European Integration and Regional Development. In October 2023, he was elected Governor of the Attica Region. He speaks English and French.

Explore the eight regional units of Attica. Click on each box to find out about history, museums, top attractions, beaches, gastronomy, festivals, activities, transportation, accommodation and much more.

Note: Some regional units are not available yet, they will be soon.