Lesvos North Aegean Region
Lesvos Island, scenic Plomarion town with traditional fishing boats/Photo 176128285 © Freesurf69 | Dreamstime.com

North Aegean Region

Based at Mytilene on the island of Lesvos, the region's administrative centre and divided into five regional units: Chios, Ikaria, Lemnos, Lesvos, and Samos



The North Aegean islands form the northernmost group of Greek islands. Rare natural beauty, picturesque harbours, crystal clear waters, abundance of traditional villages, and a relaxing atmosphere, make the North Aegean islands ideal holiday destinations. Explore the small volcanic island of Agios Efstratios surrounded by ruins of ancient towns; Lesvos, also known by the name of Mytilini famous for its olive oil production; Chios, famous for its naval history, legendary sea captains and its mastic villages; Samos, the birthplace of the great philosopher and mathematician Pythagoras; Lemnos, the mythological home of Hephaistos, god of metalworking; Ikaria, known for its hot springs, thermal baths and festivities at village fairs; Fournoi, a group of small islands that used to be a pirate hideaway; Psara which played an important part during the Greek War of Independence (1821) and Oinouses, a cluster of nine islands, which has been included in the European network NATURA 2000.


The North Aegean islands became permanent settlements around the year 5000BC and were vital for shipping and trade as early as 3000 BC. During the 5th to 8th Century BC these islands were prosperous cultural and trade centres. The Greek peninsula became a Roman protectorate in 146 BC, and the Aegean islands were added to this territory in 133 BC. After the fall of the Byzantine Empire, the islands were part of the Ottoman Empire which led to a lot of destruction and persecution. The islands were heavily involved in the Revolution of 1821. The massacres of Chios in 1822 and Psara in 1824, increased the sympathy of the rest of Europe, helping fuel the battle for independence. In 1912, the islands were finally incorporated back into the Greek nation.


The regional economy is largely dependent on agriculture. Olive oil is the main source of income in Lesvos, also known as the “island of olives.” Unique wines, spirits (ouzo) and mastiha (in Chios) are also produced since ancient times. Tourism is another a major source of income particularly on the islands of Lesvos, Samos, and Chios.

>Gross regional product

Total: €2.5 billion Per capita: €14,200 


The North Aegean region was established in the 1987 administrative reform. The total number of islands in the North Aegean region are nine: Lesbos, Chios, Psara, Oinousses, Ikaria, Fournoi Korseon, Lemnos, Agios Efstratios and Samos. Along with the Southern Aegean region, it is supervised by the Decentralized Administration of the Aegean based at Piraeus.

Region’s capital: Mytilene Region’s Area: 3,835.91 km2 Region’s Population (2021): 194,136
Postal Address: Region of North Aegean, 1 P. Kountourioti Str. 81100, Mytilene, Lesvos, Greece Region’s Website: https://www.pvaigaiou.gov.gr Email: pv@pvaigaiou.gov.gr Tel: +30 22513 52100

Kostas Moutzouris Regional Governor of North Aegean

Kostas Moutzouris was born in Mytilini. He studied at the National Technical University of Athens (Metsovio). He continued with postgraduate studies in Marine Hydraulics at Grenoble Institute of Technology in France and doctoral studies at Delft Institute of Technology in the Netherlands. In October 2023, he was reelected Governor of the North Aegean region.

Explore the five regional units of the North Aegean. Click on each box to find out about history, museums, top attractions, beaches, gastronomy, festivals, activities, transportation, accommodation and much more.

Note: Some regional units are not available yet, they will be soon.