Meteora, Thessaly, Greece
Holy Trinity Monastrery, Meteora, Thessaly, Greece/ Photo 144412535 © Zavgsg |

Thessaly ( Region )

Based at the city of Larissa, the region's administrative centre and divided into five regional units: Karditsa, Larissa, Magnesia, Trikala, Sporades



Located on the central eastern mainland of Greece, Thessaly is sometimes referred to as the “breadbasket” of Greece thanks to its fertile agricultural lands. The region is bordered by mountains from three sides and watered by the Aegean Sea from the eastern side. Mountains, rivers, beaches, make it a popular holiday destination. Archeological areas, Byzantine monasteries, churches, and traditional settlements are also found in this region of fascinating natural beauty. The cities of Larisa, Volos, Trikala and Karditsa; Mount Pelion (the retreat of the Olympian gods and also the homeland of Centaurs, the mythical creatures half-men half-horses); the popular artificial lake Plastira; the valley of Tempi; the unique Meteora (UNESCO World Heritage Site) with their monasteries and the beautiful islands of Sporades (Alonnisos, Skiathos, Skopelos) complete the sheer beauty of Thessaly.


Thessaly (formerly known as the ancient region of Aeolia) is named after the Thessaloi, an ancient Greek tribe. In Homer’s epic, the Odyssey, the hero Odysseus visited the kingdom of Aeolus.
In 353 BC, the King of Macedonia Phillip II, conquered Thessaly and the area became the province of Macedonia. In 168 BC, Thessaly became part of the Roman Empire  and remained part of the East Roman Byzantine Empire after the collapse of Roman power in the west.
During the Byzantine period, Thessaly was a part of the Byzantine state and as a result, there had been many invasions and raids. Ottoman control began in the late 14th century with the capture of Larissa in 1392-93. After four and a half centuries of Ottoman rule Thessaly became part of the modern Greek state in 1881. Rigas Feraios, the important Greek intellectual and a pioneer of the Greek War of Independence (1821-1829) was from the region. During World War II, Thessaly was occupied by the Kingdom of Italy from April 1941 to September of 1943. After the Armistice of Cassibile, Germany occupied Thessaly until October 1944.


Thessaly is a vital agricultural region, particularly for the production of grain, cattle, and sheep. Goat and sheep meat, dairy products, and fresh fruits and nuts are also produced here. The mountains that dominate the north and the west of the region, provide mostly adequate water resources to the central plain below and allow for its intensive cultivation.

>Gross regional product

Total:  € 9.7 billion Per capita: €16,100

The region of Thessaly borders the regions of Macedonia to the north, Epirus to the west, Central Greece to the south, and the Aegean Sea to the east. The administrative region was established in the 1987 administrative reform. Along with Central Greece, it is supervised by the Decentralized Administration of Thessaly and Central Greece, based at Larissa.


Region’s capital: Larissa Region’s area: 14,036.64 km2 Population (2021): 687,527 Postal Address: Region of Thessaly, Riga Feraio Square 41110 Larissa, Greece Region’s Website: Email: Tel: +30 2413 506100 Tourist portal of the Region of Thessaly:

Dimitrios Kouretas Regional Governor of Thessaly

Dimitrios Kouretas was born in Patras in 1962. He is a professor of Animal Physiology-Toxicology at the University of Thessaly. He is a holder of a PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Thessaloniki and he earned a Bachelor in Pharmacy from the University of Patras. From 1990 to 1992 he worked as a researcher at the Harvard Medical School in Boston. In October 2023, he was elected Governor of the Thessaly Region.

Explore the five regional units of Thessaly. Click on each box to find out about history, museums, top attractions, beaches, gastronomy, festivals, activities, transportation, accommodation and much more.

Note: Some regional units are not available yet, they will be soon.